This is not my idea. A good friend of mine called Nick Reeve came up with it.

The general idea is pretty simple. I’m going to attempt to watch 100 movies during 2013 that I haven’t seen before. A little over a decade ago this would have been easy. Back then I could probably have done it in about 4 months, no problem.  This was in the good old days when you could get three videos for £20 from HMV. Ah, HMV, how I loved thee. Wandering your displays, trying to find something worth watching. Actually having a disposable income to buy movies with (how come I earn twice as much now, but I’m always skint?).

On a side note I’m not too sure my 6 year old daughter even knows what a VHS tape is. She’d probably stare at it with the same “what the fuck is that?” look on her face as when she saw a Game Boy.

100 new movies in a year should be a doddle, shouldn’t it? That’s about 1 every 4 days. Anyone can do that, can’t they? Well, not so far. In order to keep up with the average I should be on at least 2 films so far this year, and I’ve only watched one: the 2012 version of Total Recall, which wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be (but more about that later).

The same goes for the books – 100 books that I haven’t read before. This one might be a bit more of a struggle, but you’ve got to set yourself goals in life, haven’t you? Since I’ve always got my Kindle with me I’ve really got no excuse not to be dipping into fiction whenever I get the chance.

Yes, I know that I should be setting myself slightly more exciting challenges for the year but, damnit, I WANT to do this!

Owen

